Arsenal play football tonight.

I could write about my nagging concerns over Arsene Wenger’s inability to judge the weaknesses in his squad. I could write about my ideal signings at striker, defensive midfield and centre back. I could write about Shad Forsythe and the continued injury plague. But I’ve got plenty of time for that. And Arsenal are actually playing today.

Football fandom has received the 24-hour news treatment. People need constant updates, to have something to talk about at all times; and that doesn’t suit an emotionally-demanding passtime where things only happen once or twice a week, nine months of the year. I’m not going to tell you that transfer gossip isn’t an exciting thing to indulge in, or tactical analysis isn’t enlightening, or your concerns aren’t valid, but there comes a time when you have to remember what the point of all this is.

Tonight is a bloody big game. Last week’s performance wasn’t great and Besiktas will have been delighted that they’ve kept the tie alive heading into tonight. If they can score early, or keep us from scoring for an hour or so, they’ll know they have a great chance, especially if the crowd starts shitting the bed (luckily us Gooners are rock solid on that front, eh?).

It’s hard to tell how Wenger will line them up tonight. For Alexis to go off at half time last weekend suggests he’s still finding fitness, but I’d hope he plays up top with Ozil behind, the Ox and Cazorla (big assist against the Toffees under his belt) out wide and Jack and Flamini in the middle. It would be just magic if Koscsacker could start at the back, not least because Chambers and Mertesacker (Members?) are about as fast as long-shore drift. And of course Martinez in goal. Poldi, Campbell, Sanogo and Rosicky all have the ability to change things from the bench.

For me, even with the hand-wringing the lack of strikers has provoked, the big issue is the midfield two. I’d prefer Wilshere to have a more sensible, less card-guzzling partner than Flamini, who will bring all the passion required, but possibly only a fraction of the discipline. Jack should treat this as an opportunity to get out from Ramsey’s shadow, but this is a really tough assignment. Besiktas will look to hit us on the break, and we saw against Everton that we’re still far too happy to allow opponents to run directly at our back four.

It’s safe to say I’m nervous about tonight, and not expecting a comfortable evening. But I am expecting a win. As Arseblog says here, if the Ox had his shooting boots on, things might have been very different at Goodison. I only saw highlights of the Everton game (was my birthday, was in the Lake District, was drunkenly watching horses) but it didn’t look as bad as the Twitter had me believe, and I rate the Toffees above the Turks.

Along with Ozil and Alexis, the Ox is the player I’d look to for inspiration. He has so much talent in him, and if he’s on song, he can stamp provide us a different threat on the right hand side: if our nice passing isn’t succeeding in going round ’em, hopefully Alex can go through ’em.

So I’ll meet you back here in a day or two ready to talk about injuries and signings and Arsene Wenger. But until then, let’s cross our fingers for the thing that really matters.

Oh, and here’s a nice You Are My Arsenal preview as a reward for sticking with me this far.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment